Members & Contact

University of Georgia researcher Dr. Geert-Jan Boons


Geert-Jan Boons
UGA Foundation Distinguished Professor in Biochemical Sciences
Download CV

Dr. Boons received his M.Sc. in Chemistry in 1987 and his Ph.D. in Synthetic Carbohydrate Chemistry in 1991 from the State University of Leiden in The Netherlands. Prior to joining the faculty at the CCRC in 1998, he spent seven years in the United Kingdom, first as a postdoctoral fellow at Imperial College, London, and the University of Cambridge, and then as a lecturer and professor at the University of Birmingham. In 2003, Dr. Boons was awarded the Carbohydrate Research Award for Creativity in Carbohydrate Science by the European Carbohydrate Association. Also in 2003, he was elected chairman for the 2005 Gordon Research Conference on Carbohydrates. In 2004, Dr. Boons received the Horace Isbell Award by the Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry of the American Chemical Society and was appointed Franklin Professor of Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Georgia. In 2012, he received the Creative Research Inventor’s Award by the University of Georgia Research Foundation and in 2013 was appointed UGA Foundation Distinguished Professor in Biochemical Sciences. He has been awarded the Roy L. Whistler International Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry for 2014 by the International Carbohydrate Organization. In 2015, he was recruited to Utrecht University, where he is Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemical Biology & Drug Discovery. He received the Claude S. Hudson Award by the Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry of the American Chemical Society in 2015 and the Cope Mid Career Scholar Award from the ACS in 2016. He has published > 330 articles. His research program emphasizes the chemical synthesis and biological functions of complex carbohydrates and glycoconjugates.


Rachel Bainum
Coordinator for the Boons Group

Seema Bhagwat
Visiting Scholar

Thomas Buckley
Graduate Student

Saptashwa Chakraborty
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Pradeep Chopra
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Dahai Ding
Graduate Student

Balasaheb Ghotekar
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Kyle Minder
Graduate Student

Anthony Prudden
Research Professional III

Ravi Loka Sankar
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Chen Shao
Graduate Student

Margreet Wolfert
Assistant Research Scientist

Pengfei Xuan
Research Professional